Aspiring Photographer needs help!

DissolvedOne

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
To all the experts out there:

I am new to photography. I enjoy taking pictures with digital cameras, but I feel a lack of control. I will be taking classes in the fall and I'd like to get a nice SLR beforehand to tinker before I am into a class.

A few recomendations would be great. Many people have refered me to different brands, but as it is now, I have no clue what the differences could be. I have read many reviews of Nikon, Pentax, Cannon, etc., and still have no starting point.

I want to reserve about $300-$400 for body, a lens or two, case, tripod and one of those cables you use to take pictures without jilting the camera body (the name of those escapes me at present).

I currently own no camera and have no bias towards any company. Have fun to those who post here, no flame wars or insults. I really want great factual information and any that is offered will be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance to any that take time to respond.

Note: Non-Digital SLR recomendations please.

Oh, I also want to get a flash within that price range as well.

I will be developing my film at a local photo-studio or Ritz Camera (they do a pretty good job) or at school, so developing equipment, paper, chemicals, etc. will come later.

Hey, I am about in the same situation as you right now, I have no experience and i am starting photography classes soon.

I started by buying a Nikon N80 for about $200USD on ebay, everything looks fine. btw a lot of ppl have recomanded this kind of camara for starters like you and me. google it for reviews and tests.

As you may have read in my topic, I am to a point where i am looking for a good lens.

Good luck, and keep us updated on your decisions. It will probably very useful.

cheers mate