Baby Portrait and Headshot feedback!

rhyno214

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Now that I have finally found this website and realized how useful it can really be, I would like you guys to tear apart some of my work. I am not a professional, but I enjoy taking pictures for my friends and would maybe like to make some money some day.

So, the first two pictures are of a baby shoot. I am terrible with babies, but they really wanted some... I think they turned out ok, but what do you guys think?
untitled%20shoot-0067-Edit_zpskirz0ytd.jpg

untitled%20shoot-0039_zpsgv9sllbe.jpg

The second three are from a headshot shoot for an acting agency. (The first one needs some extra touch ups on the left side, I am still working on them)
untitled%20shoot-9890-Editfinal_zpsxthbuqwl.jpg

untitled%20shoot-9878-Edit_zps7jngisxs.jpg

untitled%20shoot-9799-Edit_zpsnnafbuev.jpg

Note, I was told to not edit too much for these three photos.

And the final two are from a shoot where I was just trying out some techniques.
untitled%20shoot-9364_zps0ckv4tep.jpg

untitled%20shoot-9493_zpspznk4e1k.jpg

Thank you so much for your help!

Last edited:
That's a lot of pictures for one post! For best results when asking for C&C, 4 images or fewer is generally recommended, but what the heck, it's Sunday.

1. A cute image and nice expressions. I think your depth of field (DoF) was a little shallow as some of Dad's face seems soft. There's also a bit of a green cast in the skin, but that's easily correctable. The exposure on the child seems just a bit hot; maybe 1/2 stop or so, and I kind of wish that you hadn't cropped of quite so much of Dad's head.

2. Great smile; this would have worked much better shot in portrait (vertical) aspect so as to avoid the awkward crop at the child's wrists. Cutting limbs is find, but avoid doing so at joints. I would also crop the edges to remove the lawn; that looks a bit messy to me.