Batteries and Charger Help

rojicha07

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone:

I have recently bought the Fuji HS10 camera, but now I am confused about which batteries and charger should I buy.

I am interested in the Maha/Powerex 2700mAh batteries and in the Eneloop batteries... What do you think about these batteries? Are they good? Are there any others better than them? What do you recommend me?

By the other hand, I've been looking to the La Crosse BC-9009 charger. However, I am worried about this charger because of the "melting problem" that many users have experienced. Has this issue been solved by now? Is this a good charger or which one do you recommend me (not very expensive please, hahaha)?

Thanks in advance for any help. Every advice will be highly appreciated, because I am a newbie in this of photography.

Regards!

I know it's not very eco-conscious of me but I use nothing but non-rechargable lithium batteries. When you're carrying a lot of battery-based equipment the light weight of lithiums becomes a life-saver. Measured over the scope of all the equipment I carry, the total weight savings is only .5-1lb, but when it comes to individual devices, say a camera or flash that takes 6AA's, my equipment just feels much more maneuverable and less of a drag to work with.

I can't remember where (try searching), but I did see a very thorough test of a wide range of chargers with regard to speed and effectiveness (how high of a charge level they were able to attain), and the Maha/Powerex chargers were consistently able to best everything out there. Not sure if the one you mentioned was compared though.