Best camera for a low budget?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Morgen, Apr 4, 2016.

1. Morgen

Morgen TPF Noob!

I"m really interested in starting up a hobby and photography has really been appealing to me since I've went on a few hikes with friends. There are just so many moments I'd love to capture and places I may not go again. Photos keep that moment in a standstill and you can think back on it. :)
    Since I'm only beginning and all I would love to get some input on a good camera that would be around $200 and under range?
    Mostly I want to shoot pictures of things I see along my walks and hikes. I also have a beautiful active husky who never stands still for even a moment, I'd love something that would be able to capture her in her still active moments as well as work for the other things I want it for.

Any advice would be appreciated!

2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You should be able to find something like a Nikon D40 w/ 18-55 lens for that price. There are also options from Canon, as well as some of the higher-end P&S units.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Didereaux

Didereaux Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    ....or a Canon T2i and lens for that price.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. robbins.photo

robbins.photo Yup, It's The Zoo Guy Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Well if your hiking, mostly taking pictures outdoors in good lighting you might want to consider a good bridge camera. They don't have quite the image quality of a DSLR but they take pretty good images in good light, they are small, compact, lightweight and the lens that's built in will give you a very wide range of focal lengths.

Something like a panasonic FZ70 might be a good option for you in that price range.

• Like Like x 1
  5. EIngerson

EIngerson Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit