Business Name

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by valeriemartinphotography, Jan 29, 2016.

1. valeriemartinphotography

valeriemartinphotography TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi All - I have been an aspiring pet photographer for some time now and have noticed that someone else has the same business name Valérie Martin Photography (which is my full name). The only difference is I put an accent on the "e" in my name since I am French. I am wondering if I would down the line run into any legal issues?

This is my website: Ottawa Pet Photographer │Valérie Martin Photography

This is hers: http://www.valerie-martin-photography.com/

Thanks!
    Valérie

2. ruggedshutter

ruggedshutter No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I doubt that you would run into any legal problems since you are both on opposite sides of the world.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Designer

Designer Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Difficult to say since I practice law only on the internet. :icon_jokercolor:

Have you done anything to register your business name and protect your images? Have you conferred with a real lawyer about setting up your business? Are you required to be licensed in your community? Do you regularly file your tax returns?

All of the usual regulations in effect will have your name, address, tax I.D., and possibly other differentiating identification linked to only you, so the fact that you both have the same name will not (in my opinion) create a problem.

This legal advice is worth every penny you paid for it. :)

• Like Like x 1
  4. valeriemartinphotography

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thank you, this is reassuring!

5. imagemaker46

imagemaker46 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    It shouldn't be a concern at all, they have a .com you have a .ca so you're good for the domain name, and it's not like the rest of the world has business names that aren't the same.