Buying my first lens

lincho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello guys!
I'm a newbie so I really want to ask for advice. Which is better: Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G or AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D?

And my second question:
If I choose the 50mm will be there a big difference between the stabilized one and the non-stabilized (I want it for portraits without tripod).
Thanks in advance (sorry for my bad English .___.)

Answer is easy. Take the 35mm AF-S f/1.8. Personally, I do not use lenses with optical stabilization. I do not need it.

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk HD

lincho said:
Hello guys!
I'm a newbie so I really want to ask for advice. Which is better: Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G or AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D?

And my second question:
If I choose the 50mm will be there a big difference between the stabilized one and the non-stabilized (I want it for portraits without tripod).
Thanks in advance (sorry for my bad English .___.)

It depends. What camera? The DX lens is made for smaller sensor cameras (DX cameras), however it will work on most FX cameras, but the image captured will use only part of the cameras sensor. The FX lens will work on either kind of camera, but will effectively be a 75mm lens on a DX. So, most would say better for portraits. If you latter get a better FX camera, you will most likely have to get rid of the DX lenses for the better FX lenes. I would recommend the 50mm if portrait is a priority. I assume you have a DX camera, if you think you will not move to the more expensive FX camera and lenses some day ( D600, D700, D800, D4), then maybe you should stick with the DX. A 35mm lens on a DX camera is roughly equivalent to a normal lens ( 50mm ) on a FX camera. Image stabilization is seldom offered on prime (single focal length) lenses, particularly normal and wide angle. I am not aware of any that have it less than the 105mm macro (a wonderful lens). JD

I'm using D5100. I want these lens cause im looking for that blury bokeh effect in portraits.