DoctorDementia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys, I'm new to the forum and to photograpy.
I'd like to purchase a reflex (until now I've tried only a compact camera and some entry level at school), but I'm not entirely sure of my choice.
I am looking for a not-too-much expensive camera and I was thinking about the Canon EOS 1300d.
Did anyone try it? Do you think it's a good camera for a total noob (as myself) or will it be a waste of money? (I've reed many reviews of the previous model and almost everyone was enthusiastic about the product, but I was just wondering if this is the right model to buy)
Feel free to recommend me other models or other brands (and if I wrote something horribly wrong, please, correct me or make me notice). Thanks in advance.

I have never used any of the new canon DSLRs but had an old eos g film camera years ago.
Honestly, I wish I had just bought a really nice camera to start off with so I didn't have to keep upgrading and end up spending several times the cost of a better camera if I had just gone that route.

If I were to start in the hobby / profession today, I'd just get a Nikon D500 and not waste time and money with 3 to 5 cameras in between a base model and what I ended up with and save the headache and cash that went into all the upgrades in between.
The nice thing about Nikon is that lenses will work on the new ones that were bought for the older cameras. Some Canon will also work, but many will not be forward compatible for some silly reason (planned obsolescence).

Why not get a D5? I personally never liked the FX cameras I had and always ended up just grabbing the DX bodies even when I had both. FX cameras are supposedly nice for some things, but they are evidently things I generally don't do or don't care about when I go out with a camera. I'd rather compose then shoot than shoot and crop to compose. I know people that feel the opposite and neither is right for everyone.