Camera Suggestions

TheCheekyPixel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I currently have a Nikon D5000 with an Af-s dx 18-55mm as well as macro and wide angle lenses.

I am a casual photographer who mainly photographs clothing as well as rock n roll dancing (low light and action combined).

My kit lense broke the other day and a replacement is proving hard to find (my camera isn't compatible with the Af-p models)...

Before I go ahead and find a new one I am thinking of just upgrading the body...

I am thinking of the D7100... but I need advice.. I am also considering swapping completely to Canon...

Any advice or suggestions?

Sent from my iPad using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Well low light and action is a very demanding situation. I have a D7200 and I'm very happy with it. I'm sure the D7100 would be a great upgrade for you. It will handle low light better than your current camera, and will allow you to buy older glass as it has a focus motor, which your 5000 does not have. In that generation of bodies I think that Nikon had the better sensors, and you already have Nikon glass.

So I guess a D7100 and a fast lens (17-50/2.8) would probably be a huge step up from what you currently have.

Well low light and action is a very demanding situation. I have a D7200 and I'm very happy with it. I'm sure the D7100 would be a great upgrade for you. It will handle low light better than your current camera, and will allow you to buy older glass as it has a focus motor, which your 5000 does not have. In that generation of bodies I think that Nikon had the better sensors, and you already have Nikon glass.

So I guess a D7100 and a fast lens (17-50/2.8) would probably be a huge step up from what you currently have.

That's sort of what I'm hoping.. I've had the 5000 for coming up to 7 years now... time for an upgrade... the 7200 would have been good except for the weight... it would be nearly 250gram heavier than my current...