Can someone set me straight on what these lenses are used for?

jdong217

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have the Nikon D3100 with the kit 18-55 mm VR lens. My dad used to be somewhat of a photographer and lent me a few of his lenses, but I'm not sure when to use each lenses. ie are they mainly for handheld or tripod, etc. Anyways, these are the lenses I have

-Nikon 105mm f/2.8 manual focus lens (not the micro lens)
-Nikon 180mm f/2.8 manual focus lens
-Nikon AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 VR lens

I'm assuming the last one is primarily for handheld as it has VR. I must sound like an idiot but I'm still really new to all of this. Also, do any of those lenses have a distinct advantage in nighttime outdoors shots (think nighttime cityscapes)?

Are you sure the 105 isn't micro? I looked it up on Nikon site and it says micro and it's the only 105 I saw. It's a macro lens to take close ups of small things such as flowers bugs etc. Micro is Nikons word for Macro. Check out this site http://kenrockwell.com/nikon/105mm-f28.htm

I'm positive. The two manual lenses are pretty old. Mine has the distance readings starting at 3.5 ft, then going up to 70 ft before infinity. If the image on Nikon's site is correct, the micro lens only hit 20 ft - infinity.

This is definitely the 180 mm lens though

180mm - This is a compact and super-sharp telephoto lens. It has many uses ranging from sports, travel, portraits where flattening facial features is desired and general landscape photography. As with all Nikon manual focus equipment this lens is finished to very high standards.180mm. Not that big - you can hold or put on tripod. So the 105mm that you have IS a micro. They started making the micro 105mm f2.8 in the early 80s. It has to be the micro. They made a 105mm f/4 micro in 70s. Unless it's older which I doubt.

All 105 f2.8 nikon lenses are micro. They never made a non micro 105mm f2.8.