choosing a lens -help please

nyamy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a real newbie here, got a canon xsi about a month ago, with the kit lens.

my obsession lately is getting close up shots of my kids doing their kid-thing, capturing their expressions, etc
the kit lens doesn't seem to have enough telephoto for my purpose, if I'm right on top of them, the kids stop being gorgeously spontaneous and make dorky 'say cheese' type faces.

what lens do you recommend?
budget is in the $400 ballpark

kit is 18-55? maybe the sigma 18-125mm?

Are the photos you like to take are mostly indoor photos?

If they are indoor type photos and you may need to use a fast lens. Which is a lens with a lower Aperture number (wider the aperture) that allow you to take a photo with faster shutter speed and still have enough exposure.

i.e.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM
Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG AF Telephoto Macro Lens

As for the zoom lens, this is not a bad choice, but this lens is not a fast lens but it is a IS lens. So it helps camera shake. If your kids are not a FAST moving kids, the IS may help.

Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens

If you like to capture a indoor photo of your kids running around, I will try the 85mm f1.8 USM or the 100mm f2 USM. Since they are fast and USM (faster autofocus) lenses. However, I am not sure if 85mm is far enough for you or not. It is certainly better than your 18-55mm in terms of range and image quality.

For outdoor, that 55-250mm is not a bad choice.

Again, if you can spend more money (about $600 now since rebate is not available now), the 70-200mm f4L is not a bad choice either.

Also looks for used lens market.

Hello,

I got a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II to take pictures of my kid and it has worked great so far. The fast f/1.8 aperture can give you nice looking portraits at a very afordable price (less than 90 bucks!).