Choosing a video camera for film studies

GodFather

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm studying Film and Television and I want to buy a video camera for that purpose. I've found myself widely overwhelmed and lost by all the different technical details and parameters.
Basically, the things that are important to me the most are:

1. Budget - around 1,000 USD
2. Image quality.
3. Night shoots not looking all noisy and ugly.
3. Manual control over stuff like focus, shutter, white balance etc.

My indecision comes mainly because I can't figure out what's better for me - DSLR or camcorder. I've heard that the video quality in DSLR are better than camcorders (of course if we're comparing cameras at about the same price range), while others not agree and there are some obvious advantages in camcorders.

I'd appreciate your help. It's almost the end of the semester and I have three more short films to shoot! :)

Thanks!

Hi GodFather - welcome to the forum! You're right, there are lots of choices out there - and lots of people with strong preferences for camcorders vs DSLRs. I own both, and use them for different purposes. For artistic expression (shallow depth of field, different lens choices for different "looks"), I prefer a large sensor, interchangeable lens camera. For recording events, with smooth power zoom and rock solid autofocus, I prefer the small sensor, fixed lens camcorder.

DSLRs from Canon and Nikon, DSLTs (Sony Translucent) or DSLMs (Panasonic Mirrorless) have large sensors and interchangeable lenses. Video quality from these cameras is not "better" than from a small sensor camcorder - it's different. These cameras all provide you with control over depth of field and lens selection that you don't get from $1000 camcorders.

That said, $1000 camcorders have several advantages over DSLRs - e.g., unlimited video clip length, viewfinders and autofocus functions that continue to work in video mode, power zooms and headphone jacks.