close-up focusing?

Theninjaseal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to the ILC/dSLR world and I really miss the close-up focusing of my oldd point-and-shoot. What's the best (cheapest) way for me to allow my camera to focus really up close for macro shots? Like less than two inches maybe. Is that even possible for a dSLR frame? Any suggestions on lenses or accessories that would let me focus really close and still use autofocus? Thanks.

Click here.

Cheapest and best are mutually exclusive.

Cheap...... screw-on close-up filters.

Best....... that depends on how deep your pockets are.

Are extension tubes with contacts for aperture / focus control super-expensive?
would I need to buy several in order to get the focus really close?
Do tubes reduce image quality/brightness by more than a stop or two?
And can you use autofocus with lens diopters / conversion lenses?
Sorry for all the questions, I'm a bit of a newb

Are extension tubes with contacts for aperture / focus control super-expensive?

They do cost more than simple extension tubes.

would I need to buy several in order to get the focus really close?

They usually come in a set of 3.... 12, 20 and 36mm are common in a set. But some sell individual tubes. The more extension you put in, the closer you can focus.

Do tubes reduce image quality/brightness by more than a stop or two?

They don't affect IQ in the way add-on optical methods do (like filters) because there's no glass in them. But you can find some IQ loss because the lens you're using isn't designed for this type of use.

And can you use autofocus with lens diopters / conversion lenses?

Yes.

Sorry for all the questions, I'm a bit of a newb

That's why we're all here!

Thanks! I'm looking at the Kenko m4/3 tube set.