College Kid Starting a Hobby

Ramones

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a freshman in college, and every time I get my hands on one of my friend's dSLR I can't put it down. I've been looking into getting into photography as a little hobby, without investing too much in it(college budget) I don't really want anything extremely elaborate, I'm looking to buy a body with a starter lens, then going from there.

Any recommendations on what cameras I should look at? I've been surfing these forums and adorama.com and there's so much stuff to sift through and check if it's outdated, etc. I figured I would just post and ask.

I know there's a million of these here, thanks in advance for the help

First, I want to reminisce. I was in the service when I started. That was 1962 and film, of course, and my first camera was a twin-lens reflex. I used that for two years and then sold it and got a 35mm SLR with a 50mm. I used that for four years. Then I got married, started a family, sold my camera and darkroom equipment. Years later, I bought another SLR and then six years ago I moved to a DSLR.

Camera. I don't think it makes a whole lot of difference. They all take nice photos. One decision will be in-camera image stabilization versus in-lens. Canon and Nikon are stablized in the lens so is you want IS you have to buy the right lens. Pentax, Sony, and all the others have IS in the camera so every lens has IS available. My opinion is that if I wanted to shoot long telephotos, 500mm and up, I'd go with in-lens. Otherwise, in-camera is better for me.