Complete Newbie: Insuring equipment?

angelak24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi All! I am a complete newbie though I have been lurking on the forum for awhile. I have a question about insuring my equipment. I have a d60 and a couple of lenses (nothing too expensive) and do not have anything insured yet. I do some second shooting for weddings and some family/child pics when asked by family and friends...so I would in now way call myself a professional by an stretch of the imagination. However, as I begin to get more equipment and do more with photography should I have my equipment insured and how/where do I go about doing this?

Also, on a side note, the hubby and I are going to be going to Hawaii on vacation and I cannot wait to bring along my camera to capture the scenery etc. (though i do enjoy taking photos of people rather than scenery.) BUT I am very concerned about taking the camera without insurance...worried about theft and/or dropping/damaging the camera (I have an insane lack of grace lol :lmao:). Also, I have never traveled with camera equipment before so if anyone can give me any advice for how to travel with the camera I would welcome those comments as well! :D

Thanks in advance!! ;)

Like a good neighbor, state farm is there. And some folks have posted some reasonable prices if you search the threads on this topic.

In many cases, if you have a home insurance policy, your gear may be covered already. Although, I'd guess that most people have a fairly high deductible on their home policy, which means it may not be worth it to claim $1000 worth of camera gear. What used to do, was to have a separate rider on my policy, just for my camera gear, so that the deductible on it wasn't so high.

Now, the rub is that if you use your gear in a professional capacity, then it may not be covered under your home policy. That's a question for your insurance company.