ldawson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a new photographer and i really need some constructive criticism
IMG_1608 #2.jpg
Please feel free to give tips and tricks so I can improve. FIRE AWAY

I think it's a strong portrait, although I would definitely crop much of the dark space on the right side of the frame. I'd be curious to see a square crop.

I think it's a strong portrait, although I would definitely crop much of the dark space on the right side of the frame. I'd be curious to see a square crop.

something along the lines of this?

Attachments

• IMG_1608 #2 (2).jpg
    IMG_1608 #2 (2).jpg
    155.2 KB · Views: 254
Very nicely done. I really like the lighting here, and Limr's recommendation for the square crop is spot on.

something along the lines of this?

Yes, I think that works better. The negative space behind her head in the original didn't seem to serve much purpose.

Welcome to the forums, I really like the image, agree with Limr's feedback too :)

I am a new photographer and i really need some constructive criticism Please feel free to give tips and tricks so I can improve. FIRE AWAY
Unless, of course, she has a stylish hairdo. In which case, you need that extra space, and a "hair light". Since a hair light is a specifically calibrated and aimed light, it might detract somewhat from the mood of this shot.

At any rate; what this shot needs is some separation between your model and the background, and you can do that by hinting at some faint light on the back of her head. Or a rim light on the back of her head.