D5300 AF-S really needed?

gartismo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this website like I'm new to photography. I bought a D5300 few weeks sgo. i actually own a AF-S Nikkor 18-140mm and a Nikkor 50mm 1.8f D.

I know that I need a AF-S for my D5300 I noticed the problem with my 50mm. But now I would like to buy a macro lens. Some people say that AF on macro isnn't really necessary and I needed some advice about this one. I would like to have a macro of 85mm or higher and someone was selling his Tamron macro 1:1 90mm sp af f/2.8 for 250$CAN(I'm canadian) . So my question should I buy this lens or I should really stick with the AF-S lens for the price?

Thanks you!!

If you're going to be using the lens primarily for close-up/macro work, then no, I don't think the lack of AF will be an issue. The depth of field at which you will frequently be working is very, very thin, even sub-millimetric in some cases and manual focus is really the only way to get the critical focus where you want it much of the time.

I have an older Tamron 90mm AF-SP, must be 14,15 years old; the manual focusing on this lens is absolutely HAIR-trigger beyond the macro range...I mean hair-hair-hair trigger, and very challenging to focus by hand-and-eye even on the high-quality "pro" Nikon bodies with the crisp, clear viewfinders (D2x,D3x). I simply cannot imagine being able to use that, specific lens in any kind of fast or convenient manner at anything farther away than about five feet.