D600 or D800?

mergetrio

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm an amateur photographer who took photography in college and learned to do prints in the dark room, etc. Then, about 10 years ago I bought a Nikon D1x and used it quite extensively for business and personal use. I also bought Nikkor AF Micro 60mm/ 1:2.8D and 24-120mm/ 1:3.5-5.6D lenses (which I'm assuming can be used on either D600 or D800). I decided to convert the D1x to be a dedicated infrared camera. Since then, I've been on a photography hiatus.

So, I've been saving a pretty penny to get back into photography (I'm really tired of seeing low quality iPhone images, though very convenient :)) and am in the position of buying either D600 or D800. I've done some research and saw a few good YouTube videos on them as well.

Still, I'd love to hear from folks here, especially those who have owned or contemplated a similar decision. My main interest in photography is landscapes, portraits and occasional sports activities. Please chime in.

Last edited:
I have the D800.. great body. But you need the best lenses Nikon makes to take advantage of the resolution it is capable of. I have gotten rid of several lenses that gave wonderful results on a D7000... but did not cut it on the D800. Keep that in mind if you decide to go the D800 route. (Nikon has a recommended acceptable lens list on their site)

The D600 won't be as picky....

it really depends on what you want to shoot, and what you want to do with the images....

I have the D800.. great body. But you need the best lenses Nikon makes to take advantage of the resolution it is capable of. I have gotten rid of several lenses that gave wonderful results on a D7000... but did not cut it on the D800. Keep that in mind if you decide to go the D800 route. (Nikon has a recommended acceptable lens list on their site)

The D600 won't be as picky....