Designing a workflow.

shmne

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a digital design student, going into photography as a career.

As a designer the most important thing we learn is work flow, because the faster and more effective you work, the more per hour you make.

With this idea in mind, as a photographer how much do you do before a shoot?

This is a little broad to ask, and I have my own work flow but I guess I'd like to see what some other people do.

Currently since I am new I take many precautions I may not need.

-I bring my camera to the location two separate times before the shoot (if a location instead of studio) and scope out the area thoroughly.

- After talking over with the client (lately models looking for portfolio shots) as to what style they want, I write up a shot list which includes how it should be framed as well as positioning of the model.

- The day before I get my gear ready, and fully charged up (I'm assuming this is standard)

- The day of I arrive on scene about 30 minutes early and get moving! I make sure I have my lenses ready and raring, as well as making sure to look over my shot list once more before we start. This tends to make me calm with the model since I will be a lot more confident

- Once the model arrives, hair and make up finished, I'll direct them and talk to them quite a bit trying to keep things comfortable for them. (I'm using 50mm and 85mm, reflectors only meaning no flashes) I'm usually at a comfortable distance never to far. The lack of a flash makes things interesting currently... but it really isn't an option since the camera kit alone set me back quite a bit!

- From there once we wrap it all up, I'll dump to my computer and set up an action to format all the photos to the feel I want (I don't use any software outside of adobe camera raw / photoshop, with little need since I have a lot of set up actions)