Direct Mail Catalog - SLR or regular Digital camera?

GoodFella

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I am putting together a Direct Mail Catalog that features luxury car products. I want to take some custom images of products and actual cars.

I am extremely new to photography but pick things up fast.

My first question is, would I be fine with a regular basic Digital Camera or do I need to step up and buy a more expensive Digital SLR Camera?

It seems these days that the regular digital cameras have up to 12 Mega Pixels! The last digital camera I bought was a 2.0 MP about 6 years ago.

The images I take need to be great quality and 300 DPI.

Any input is very appreciated.

Thank you,
Marc

Marc,

The more important considerations are the lens, the lighting.

The gear (lens/lighting) you need to shoot a luxury pair of driving gloves, is different from the gear (lens/lighting) you'll need to shoot a car.

Marc,

The more important considerations are the lens, the lighting.

The gear (lens/lighting) you need to shoot a luxury pair of driving gloves, is different from the gear (lens/lighting) you'll need to shoot a car.

ok ... With the understanding I want to start taking various types of high quality images of different objects (a glove and car), I should probably go with an SLR that can swap lenses? Can I rule out a regular small Digital Camera?

Hello,

I am putting together a Direct Mail Catalog that features luxury car products. I want to take some custom images of products and actual cars.

I am extremely new to photography but pick things up fast.

My first question is, would I be fine with a regular basic Digital Camera or do I need to step up and buy a more expensive Digital SLR Camera?

It seems these days that the regular digital cameras have up to 12 Mega Pixels! The last digital camera I bought was a 2.0 MP about 6 years ago.

The images I take need to be great quality and 300 DPI.