Excessive Noise on D7000

kirbym2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

Looking for some tips. I am often restricted to shooting indoors. For me, this means a relatively dark environment. I'm often trying to shoot my little one, who makes a habit of crawling away from me at warp speed (tripod is not an option). I've noticed that when I use any iso above 800 I get an unacceptable level of noise. I'm no expert in LR or PS, but when I play with noise reduction, the image comes off looking... processed.

I've heard that one way to combat this problem is selecting a high enough iso to over-expose the photo. I know by shooting in RAW, exposure isn't too big of a concern (unless I've completely blown out the image).

What's the general consensus here? Any thoughts on noise with the D7000? In terms of lens specs, I'm often using my 50mm 1.4 wide open (or pretty close to it).

Thanks!

Post an example photo with the EXIF data attached.

p!nK

The real answer is to buy a flash, but here is my 'other' real answer.

Increasing ISO does not increase exposure. It tells the camera processor to amplify the signal of the analog data that was recorded from your sensor before it converts it to digital data. Sometimes, increasing ISO will reduce noise because it is sometimes easier to amplify an analog signal instead of a digital signal. It all depends on the read noise and what the signal to noise ratio is.

My guess, you are using a kit lens with a small max aperture and you are still trying to get 1/60th or faster of a shutter speed. There just isn't enough light in most houses to do that. When you try, the inherent noise that is part of your circuitry plays a larger part in the overall signal since there wasn't much of a signal from the light that was recorded.