First Camera?

lbheyman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I know this question is posted through out the forum here. But, I believe each case is different, so here goes. Our long term goal is to start a photography business so we can spend more time with our 8 month old son. She will be doing mostly children and family photos. I am also new to the photography thing and have been doing some research. I have narrowed our choices down to two cameras. The Nikon D90 or the Nikon D3100. Which of these would be a better camera to start with? Is there plenty of room to "grow" in each camera? I will also be using the camera for diving and taking outdoor photos and wildlife pictures. Keep in mind all we have ever owned were point and shoots. Oh, and one more thing. How about a lens. Would the lens that comes bundled with the camera from BB be ok? Or should we pick up a camera and buy the lens separate? Thanks for any input!

Last edited:
I know this question is posted through out the forum here. But, I believe each case is different, so here goes. My wife wants to start a photography business so she can spend more time with our 8 month old son. She will be doing mostly children and family photos. I am also new to the photography thing and have been doing some research. I have narrowed our choices down to two cameras. The Nikon D90 or the Nikon D3100. Which of these would be a better camera to start with? Is there plenty of room to "grow" in each camera? I will also be using the camera for diving and taking outdoor photos and wildlife pictures. Keep in mind all we have ever owned were point and shoots. Oh, and one more thing. How about a lens. Would the lens that comes bundled with the camera from BB be ok? Or should we pick up a camera and buy the lens separate? Thanks for any input!