First Photo Shoot with Studio Strobes

HEO2NE

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to TPF and have been enjoying it and learning alot from everyone. I have just purchased studio strobes, stands, umbrella's, soft boxes, etc. and have been playing around a little bit and enlisted some family and kids to do a test run. Big Mike offered some advice on teh black backdrop but I still am having issues with too much light hiting it and having it show up too much. Please give me your C&C so I can learn more. I made the background via advice from this forum. Thank You!
DJH_7401-2.jpg

DJH_7414-2.jpg

DJH_7420-2.jpg

DJH_7474-2.jpg

DJH_7676-2.jpg

DJH_7742-2.jpg

Nice even lighting! What sort of setup are you using when you do the photos with black backdrops? I tend to always use gobos, or snoots when trying to keep the background black.

I'm using 40" Umbrellas and a 24 x 36 softbox. The one that sorta came out that I posted, I had the softbox and umbrella setup almost aiming at each other from opposing sides trying to reduce the light hitting the backdrop. I thought about getting what I think is called a flag or a piece of black cardboard to block it further but have yet to try that. I do not have barn doors (yet :))

i recommend the book "Master Lighting Guide for portrait photographers" by Christopher Grey.

it explains different lighting modifiers/accessories and shows diagrams for different lighting. i have this book and highly recommend it.

Thank You...I checked that book out and it does look pretty good. I'm going to order it. What was your opinion of the current pictures I posted?

Thank You...I checked that book out and it does look pretty good. I'm going to order it. What was your opinion of the current pictures I posted?

comps are good. lighting is pretty good. no harsh shadows.

how many strobes do you have and how did you set them up for this?