First time not on auto CC

Live_free

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well today and yesterday, got my camera on christmas mind you, were the first days off auto for me. I have read composition rules and actually tried, keep in mind I'm still a noob at this. lol Any and ALL advice is welcome. Just don't be too mean, like meaningless rudeness. If you hate them just offer on how they could be better. Thanks :D

DSC_00161.jpg

DSC_00721.jpg

DSC_0377.jpg

DSC_0368.jpg

The last one might be better not centered. The stem creates a nice leading line to the "berries".

#2 looks pretty nice, maybe a little grainy, but still a nice capture.

1 just seems kind of boring and dull. I don't like the main subject where it is and the water all out of focus.
2 the sky is nice and the colors are pretty good. I might have increased the saturation on it a little bit to get a bit more pop but the composition is decent just try to keep from centering everything. Either have more of the sky or more of the land.
3 is again directly in the center of the photo. Check out the rule of thirds and all that good stuff. The subject is a bit too bust for me.
4 is also right in the center and the white might be a little bit over exposed.
Good luck and keep er' out of auto!
TJ

Thanks guys, the ones that you mentioned about the rules of thirds were taken yesterday before I read those rules. Also number 1 is more of a "peaceful" picture. I focused on the cat-tails? I believe and the water was out of focus on purpose.

I know it was on purpose but I think especially seeing those rocks and logs near the bottom you could have done something really nice with that and the water and hills in the back.
TJ

Horizontal lines suggest peace/rest/calm. Focusing on the vertical grasses...suggests strength/power/growth.