Friend's Photoshoot

Mezz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have zero experience shooting portraits, but I thought this would be fun, and we did have a blast. Out of the roughly 130 exposures, a few turned out really good. This is one of my favorites. How could I improve on this one concerning aperture and/or shutter speed? How is the composition? What about the "model" herself, how could I 'flatter' her more, as someone else put it?

IMG_0129.jpg

55mm
No flash used.
1/250
f/5.6
ISO 100
WB: Auto

Thanks for any input and comments!

She seems to be standing in an awkward position, and her facial expression reads as uncomfortable to me. I always try to get people [my sisters] to laugh or have a big smile. I guess unless you are trying to do the "fierce" modeling thing.

It might be a little underexposed - but hopefully a more experience eye can confirm that. It could just be that the subject doesn't seem to be jumping out from the background.

If possible I would have used a shallower depth of field. You might have moved her a little further down the road so you could eliminate the bush on right.

I'm not sure about the compositional techniques related to sky lines, hopefully someone else can pick that apart for you. It looks fine to me, but this doesn't look any better or worse than something I would have taken if I were at the same shoot - so hopefully a better eye can give you some more tips.

I agree with knjrphoto. She seems to be leaning to picture right (her left) and her facial expression looks like she isnt very happy. And the hair blowing just doesn't work for me in this picture (it just looks sloppy).

I agree with knjrphoto. She seems to be leaning to picture right (her left) and her facial expression looks like she isnt very happy. And the hair blowing just doesn't work for me in this picture (it just looks sloppy).