From D700 to D750?

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
I've been shooting with my D700 since the tsumani ..... oh that's 2011! It's been a great great beast of a camera and I had no reason to replace it..... then an ad popped up in my FB and the local dealer is having some deals for the D750, which has now gotten me interested. So perhaps you guys can give me some advice?

Reasons why I don't need a new camera:
1. Because it's not a necessity. I am not a pro, just shoot for passion and fun.
2. It's been fine so far, not a single issue even though it's been dropped a few times. Still going very strong!
3. Spending that much for a new camera isn't going to hurt my bank account, but it's still quite a bit of money. I'm a stingy person.

Reasons to get the D750:
1. I recently picked up mounting biking with my photo gears. We do full day or two day rides and currently I strap my D700 at my chest in a small camera bag for easy access. The set up is actually quite balanced, but here's where I wish it's smaller and lighter. The D750 is noticeably smaller and lighter than the D700. Is it enough? I don't know.
2. Much better sensor! I often struggle to shoot free handed in the woods. Currently I have to really push the aperture to get enough light without motion blur, which affects the sharpness big time! I don't like to push my D700 above ISO1250~1600. The newer sensors obviously perform much better under low lights and less noise at high ISO. I think any newer model will be a great improvement. Better low light capability means lots more shooting opportunities.
3. Higher mega pixels. I actually don't need the extra mega pixels because I don't really make prints and the photos from D700 look absolutely fine on monitors. However I don't really do cropping of my photos for "zoom" because 12mp isn't really enough to get decent details for cropped photo. The D750 will have twice the mp, expecting more freedom of cropping.