Fuji Superia Reala Grain issue?

bdemers

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm brand new to this forum, and I'm looking for some input...

I am an amateur photographer just getting into the hobby. I'm shooting with an old Canon AE-1 Program camera and have just started using Fuji Superia Reala 100 film (upon many recommendations for its fine grain).

I got my first roll of this film back, and had one portrait blown up to 11x14. I notice, particularly in the arms and face, a distinct graininess to the image. With any close looks, the skin almost looks sandy or bumpy, instead of natural and smooth. I understand that all films are subject to graininess when they're blown up, but I've heard so many great things about this film, I didn't think it would be an issue at only 11x14.

Is this the limits of the film, or is something else at work here? I had the picture blown up at a photo shop (not CVS), but they do send-out for large prints. Is it possible that their equipment would cause this?

I am going to try to take a picture of the picture (if that makes sense) to demonstrate the grain I'm seeing. Maybe someone here can tell me if it's normal. If all goes well, I'll be posting the picture soon...

In the meantime, thank you for reading, I appreciate any suggestions you might have!

Here is a rough scan of the 4x6 picture as it came back from the photofinisher, just for you to get an idea of the picture... keep in mind none of these have been properly color-balanced or anything, so they don't all look the same.

full.jpg

Here is a picture taken of the 11x14 with a digital camera in macro-mode:

This is the face:

face.jpg

and here is one of the arms:

arm.jpg

I hope i'm not the only one who sees noticable grain, expecially in the face. This is not the digital camera, it is on the photograph itself.