going to do a wedding

nsupanda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm shooting my sister's wedding in December. I'm pretty sure it's all going to be indoors. I consider myself to be a beginner and I don't have experience with different types of lenses.... does anyone have any suggestions? I plan on renting a couple of lenses before the shoot to try them out to see which ones I like. I am looking for a wide angle lens for sure.

Please don't badger me about, "Why are you shooting a wedding, leave that up to the pros". I have already discussed with my sister that I am not a professional, but she still wants me to do it. This will be my third wedding, so give me a break.

Anyway, I have the Canon Xsi kit lens and the 50 mm 1.8 already. Which lenses do you suggest that I try out?

Thanks in advance for useful information!

If you have shot 2 weddings before, and you sister has seen the results, I'd say she knows what she's getting into. (normally, I wouldn't recommend that a self-declared beginner tackle a wedding)

From my wedding experience, a top quality flash will be more important than additional lenses. You've got the two best basic lenses for wedding photography, IMO. Just make sure the kit lens goes down to an equivalent 28mm, so you can fit everyone in the groups shots.

Also very important in a wedding is to have back-up equipment. A spare body and memory is potentially much more valuable than a lens you may or may not need. I don't know about you, but I would feel REALLY bad if I screwed up my sister's wedding because my body stopped working and I didn't have back-up. ;)

A good tripod is also an excellent investment, if you don't have one. It makes low-light portraits possible without flash and without having to go up in sensitivity.