Grainy pictures

flashlady

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello I'm new to photography and I'm working with a Nikon D40 which is a great camera and the results are very clear accept for when I'm shooting subjects from a long distance, especially indoors. The pictures are not clear, are dark and are very grainy.

These are the tools i'm working with:

Nikon D40
Nikon VR Zoom Lense 35 - 135mm
SB600 Flash

Which is causing the problem (I want to say the lense, but I could be wrong).

Please help, so I can know what to purchase.

Thank you so much :)

From what you're saying I'm gonna have to guess that the camera is set to auto ISO. If that's the case, the camera is probably setting the ISO to 1600ish, introducing a lot of noise (graininess) into the exposure. If the picture is dark, you might just not be taking a correct exposure.

Like the above posters said, we can't fully help you without seeing some sample images. Include the EXIF data as well.

Post some examples.

ok cool, I'll post a few of my pictures when I get home. I don't have access to them right now, but here is an example as to what some of them come out like.

Imagin darker and more grainy http://navitsky.org/photos/pn58b860/090615/DSC_4804-1024x768.jpg
http://bose.infopop.cc/groupee_file...lineimg/Y/08-09-09_IOC-Bechtel_5_7_011_cr.jpg

I have a few of a celebrity basketball game I took last year that I'll post when I get home at an indoor basketball game. A few came out aweful. It was as if the there was minimal light, a lot of redeye and very grainy.

If I take pictures outdoors they are very clear.

Now could it be that I'm shooting in "Auto" mode?

Be back later with my pictures

Have a quick read here: http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...e-your-posts-get-critiques-your-work-c-c.html