Head shots for a client?

TiaS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Today I had a call for someone looking for a quote for head shots. I have just started advertising and so this is one of my very first clients. She wants a quote and I said that I offer them by the print or on a CD, with the CD being worth more. She wants it for a port foli, and so when its done she only needs 1 or 2 photos. I asked if she had a background color in mind and she said preferably black and white.... the way she said it I think that she was saying that she is looking for black and white head shots. I said that I can present her with both black and white and color. So I have to get back to her with a quote. Since I am new at doing this for clients, I am charging the very low end. Right now it is not about money but about my making a name for myself. But I don't want to be so cheap that it doesn't look like I value my work. I have no portable backgrounds, only a black sheet and a white sheet. So these are my questions:

1- How much to charge? The session itself won't take long and I was thinking $20 for shoot and 5 prints or $30 for shot and the CD
2-What size are head shots printed as?
3- is it terribly unprofessional to use sheets? There is no camera shop in my area and I all I have is sheets
4- if I use sheets how do I hang them? Painters tape not only looks terrible, it actually doesn't work worth a darn for me and they fall down alot
5- I don't have a studio and advertise on location photo sessions. But when she asked if I do head shots I wasn't going to turn this down! Do I do this in their home? Or can I use a solid colored building around town after closing hours?
6- tripod or not? Tripod means I am stuck to one area. I would rather move around to get different angles, sideways looks, head on looks, slightly down or up...