help

JonMikal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
as you know, 99.9 % of my subjects are stationary, however, im starting to like people photography more and more; especially action. im sure i should be using manual focusing but how do you get dead on with manual just at the second you need to? trail and error? i shot a bunch of these sunday but only the distant ones came out halfa**. i would like to know how you guys would have approached this shot. i caught the ball :biglaugh:

20044233-L.jpg

im no expert, but maybe a faster shutter could help freeze the action?

Also someone once told me that using a flash in action/sports photography, even though it may be broad daylight will help capture the action if its at a reasonable distance.

hope these suggestions help, if you havent already tried them

good luck with your next attempts

I'm not sure the problem in this photo is catching the action. The guys in the backgroun look like they're in pretty good focus. The best suggestion I have is using an autofocus if its available and fast enough. Its really hard to get action crisp, so use whatever tool you have in your arsenal.

On the other hand, if you want to use the manual focus. I know 2 ways to have this work the best. One focus on an area where the action is likely to come and wait. I've heard of this strategy used a lot. Secondly, find where the action is, trail it in your lens and try to keep focus, when you're happy w/ focus snap one off.

Keep in mind, this is really tough, and you did a great job capturing the action in this shot. Just keep at it and you'll get it.

p.s. - if its bright enough, a high aperture number doesn't hurt.

not sure anything i might say would actually help you, JM, but i'll have a go at it :)