Horses in studio light

Nixalba

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! I am not technically new here, I posted my introduction way back in 2011 but I've only lurked since. I'm a "listener" vs a "speaker" so I don't generally start threads or post all that much on forums, just read and learn.

I have read a lot about off-camera flash photography and wanted to apply it to my equine portraits. So I'm posting some of my photos for some critique and maybe some tips for improvement. I don't have studio strobes, just Nikon Speedlights but I think it works for my needs as they are now! I'm still really a beginner at this, so I'm hoping that posting here will help out.

Equipment used in these photos:
Nikon D90
SB-900
SB-600
Shoot-through Umbrella
55-200mm f/4-5.6 VR
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
Pocket Wizards

Lacey1-1.jpg

f/4.5 - 1/3200sec - ISO 800 - Focal length 55mm

Jake12b_zps1ec69cc1.jpg

same settings as above

lacewp6_zpsfc2350d9.jpg

f/5.6 - 1/25sec - ISO 200 - FL 55mm

rainwp1_zps29826268.jpg

f/5.6 - 1/25sec - ISO 200 - FL 46mm

jakewp6b_zps42b55be7.jpg

As above - FL 22mm

jakewp4b_zps112e71d4.jpg

As above - FL 42mm

These were taken on two different occasions. The first two were my very first attempt at shooting the ponies with lights and the second was my second time. It was too dark for my camera to focus well in the second series and next time I'll have someone hold a flashlight so my camera has some to focus with. It's also difficult to keep placing lights when your subjects keep moving (grass is much better than having to stand around having your photo taken!) We will have to work on the sand arena next time.

Last edited:
3rd one is my favorite but they are all good.

I don't like #4 because that horse has crazy devil eyes!

I've never seen horses in studio lighting hahaha! There's a first for everything! These are great shots. Maybe a nudge more contrast on #1 could help?

PS, that's a great niche market. I mean great.