How do you take more shots of people?

Senor Hound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I live out in the sticks and although nature and wildlife shots are plentiful, I rarely get the chance to shoot a person (my real passion). How can I plug into people shots more?

There was a lady at work showing off her kid's senior photos. I told her I was a photographer and that I'd be happy to take some shots of her kid just as long as she also went to a professional to get her real senior shots. I told her I'm not stealing anyone else's work, and my shots aren't good enough for her to rely on singly, but that I could supplement her professional shots with just some more options. She sounded interested, but hasn't said anything else.

Anyway, was this cool? Should I keep nosing into places asking to take shots of people? I really want to do it, even for selfish reasons. I just don't know how to get some models to wanna pose for me.

Family and friends are your greatest asset as far as practice subjects goes. Biuld a portfolio so you have some thing to show to the people you ask. Friends and family will be willing to help long before the random person on the street or at work would.

No I have no true desire to be a people photographer but, despitet that I do want to have experience in that aspect of photography. Enough experience to say I can hold my own so to speak. I asked both My GF and my grandmother to allow me to photograph them...Well as you prolly saw, it did not take a whole lot of convincing.

Make friends.

Find models that also live in the sticks.

Kidnapping*

*NOTICE - In some states, kidnapping may be frowned upon unless it's imediate family or cousins. Poster takes no responsibility for legal penalties that may result from following said advice.

Village Idiot, Village Idiot. Some of your suggestions here ... tsk-tsk-tsk ;). (But hey: good thing about the disclaimer! :D ).

Señor Hound - I know about your problems.