How would you light this warehouse event?

samplestars

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,

Just wondering if anyone has any lighting suggestions for an upcoming shoot.
I've been tasked with covering a safety demonstration in a vehicle fleet warehouse.

It's a well paid job, with a chance of repeat business, so I don't want to mess it up!
icon_lol.gif

There will be a mixture of side light from the windows/doors and overhead lights which I don't yet know their temperature. I suspect fluorescent. I've seen the warehouse and the light quality is not great. The ceiling is about 3 stories high.

My background is in more posed photography and since covering some events recently, I have a new found respect for event shooters. I have 1 TTL flash, and 2 manual flashes. My triggers are non-TTL.

Here are some lighting set-ups I've been considering:

1]
Just go natural. Bump the ISO up to 3000, or 6000 (6D) and use some noise reduction later.

2]
Bounce a flash off the ceiling on a high stand for a boost of light.

3]
TTL on camera, and bounce off the nearest wall
(This idea is in the lead for now)

4]
TTL on camera, plus ceiling bounce flash on high stand, optical slave mode.

5]
Set up a large, high brolly, pointed at the scene, far enough back that it gives a similar exposure across the scene.

As you can see, I'd like to avoid option 6]
.. direct on-camera flash!

:)

Thanks for any thoughts on this...

Too many factors here to answer without seeing or being in the space. If you are that worried about the setup it may be beneficial to ask if you can go a few days before the shoot. Take a person with you to test the different setups to see which comes out best.