I am a beginner with my new Nikon D500 ..

Photo Lady

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
1-birds 067.JPG
1-birds 092.JPG
1-feb 28 041.JPG
Just wondering how i am doing.. jumping from the Nikon D7500 to the D500.. what do you think of these photos.. be honest.. i can take it.. have to hear the negative too to learn.. in the meantime just practicing.. thanks

Last edited:
No complaints about the images themselves. Those are well composed enough.

But try to use longer shutter speeds and keep the ISO as low as possible. Even freezing sports usually can be shot at 1/1500 or 1/2000 sec shutter speed. There is absolutely no reason to shoot a statically sitting bird with 1/5000 sec unless you have to because you are at base ISO and theres too much light. Your lens probably has image stabilization, thus 1/100 sec should have been very manageable. Then the ISO of the first two images would have dropped from 25k to around 400, meaning they wouldnt have a noise problem anymore.

And for the cases which need ISO 25k and above, you might want to get a dedicated denoise software like Topaz.

Also center weighted wouldnt be my first pick for the metering mode. I would probably want to use spot, to make sure the bird is correctly exposed.

I'd recomment to get the AF-S 200-500mm f5.6 VR for a lens with the D500. Its an amazing optic and insanely cheap for what it is. Its even a really good portrait lens, which is very rare for a zoom. And sure, its not an AF-S 400mm f2.8 VR or AF-S 600m f4 VR, but its a hell of a lot cheaper than those.