I'm here To Learn

May Baby

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Warning: Long read ahead...

I'm a 22 year old complete beginner and for a long time now i have been wanting to learn photography and how to become a real photography.

The problem is I have no idea where to begin at all. I literally have no knowledge of the type of camera shots, terms & phrases, nada. The only thing I kinda know is a wide shot and even then I don't fully understand the concept of that. The realization of how much I don't know and how much there is to learn is honestly intimidating/overwhelming but I can't let that stop me.

I've already decided that I'm going to use a film camera and there's no convincing me. All the photos that I love are on film plus it's the original way. And it just looks better.

I have my eyes on two films cameras that are within my budget right now and I want you guys to help me choose...

The Argus C3 Brick

I can get this right now for $40

00C0C_avY6g8IMifX_600x450.jpg

The Yashica FX3

I can get this right now for $50

00707_qUERJDqJ2Y_600x450.jpg

Which one do you guys think I should get?

I decided to go with these two before I save up for a Nikon FM because they are in my budget right now. And because I've learned the hard way with other things that it doesn't matter if you have the latest and greatest if you don't know how to do ****.

Welcome to the site and congrats on your decision to pursue photography.

I could not give you an opinion one way or another about these two cameras, but I will ask you one question.

You said that the FM isn't in your budget now, so have you thought about the expense of film and developing and scanning them to digital (if that is what you want to do with them)?

I'm not trying to talk you out of a film camera, I have two. I just thought I would bring this to your attention. (note: you can make digital photos look like they were film photos.