Is it realistic to think that I could...

thebheads

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys, I am an amateur photographer that has kids in sports and was thinking about buying a fast lens and starting to take some pics of teams. I can hand out business cards with my hosting site and sell pics to parents. If I was determined enough I could hit all the local sports and maybe the drag strip taking pics and slinging business cards. Even the beach, doing tourist photo's (is that legal?)

Any feedback is appreciated greatly!

Start out pro bono or no more than the cost of prints for your kid's team. Build a fan base, word of mouth. Expand from there if interest happens. It's the crawl, walk, run thing.

^^ Agreed. But not so far as charging only for the cost of prints. Definitely put some mark-up on it because you don't work for free. Once you start putting your company name on your work you don't want to sell for only the cost of printing because then thats what your name will amount to (as I've read many a times in photo business books as well as on some of my own threads).

I do have to say that I photographed my cousin's cheer team for a whole 2 years before I started my business. And I never sold a picture to them, gave to them for their yearbooks, etc (I was really good friends with the coach as well.) Long story short, a great relationship there earned me countless paying jobs. Word of mouth usually starts slow, but before you know it you'll be getting more and more work. It's worked for me and I'll be in business a year come this November.

I've heard this general system works really really well. My cousin does it and makes good money at it. He also burns through shutters on his cameras like they're going out of style. :lol:

Some tips I picked up from him...

- Shoot JPEG only.
- Don't correct your images until they are purchased.
- Try to get shots of each and every kid from a few angles.
- LOTS of extra memory cards.