Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

dnlzcrhgrc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, everyone!

This is my first post on this forum so please be kind to me. :)

So, we bought a Nikon D5200 w/ an 18-55mm Kit lens. And now i'm torn between an SB-700 Flash or a 50mm 1.8G.

What do you guys think should i get? And Why?

THANK YOU.

Flash.

Although the 50mm f/1.8 prime is a good lens to have, you already have 50mm covered with the 18-55mm, so there's no rush on it, and it's really not going to do that much for you. The off camera flash opens up a whole WORLD of new possibilities though.

Flash.

Although the 50mm f/1.8 prime is a good lens to have, you already have 50mm covered with the 18-55mm, so there's no rush on it, and it's really not going to do that much for you. The off camera flash opens up a whole WORLD of new possibilities though.

I am not experienced like Buckster here but after shooting furiously for a few months now I really wish I went with the flash rather than the 50mm f/1.8 that I have. Go flash then worry about a quality lens later.

Thanks! ^^

The kit lens doesn't give as much "bokeh" the 50 1.8 does, tho. Any tips for getting more bokeh with a kit? :)

BOTH BOTH BOTH BOTH

Thanks! ^^

The kit lens doesn't give as much "bokeh" the 50 1.8 does, tho. Any tips for getting more bokeh with a kit? :)

You need your subject to background distance to be a very large distance.

Thanks! ^^

That is going to be tough because once you zoom to take a portrait the min aperture is 5.6 which will give some blur but not quality bokeh. The idea of the 50mm f/1.8 is very enticing but without a flash you could end up with very harsh shadows then all the bokeh in the world isn't going to save the images. Like I said I am no expert but my suggestion would be to go with a quality flash then consider a REAL quality lens down the road a bit that will give nice bokeh like a 24-70 or some of the other prime lens available.