Lense recommendations

Trailio

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have recently bought my first camera a Pentax MX SLR with a 50mm k-mount lense. To begin with I thought this lense was ideal, however I am beginning to find it's limitations especially with outdoor/scenic shots

I would like to purchase another couple of lenses to get me going, however as I am still quite new to this I would appreciate it if anyone could recommend what kind of lense I should go for next.

Also if anyone knows any good websites where I could purchase lenses (used or new)

17st Photo is where I go to get my equipment. They are pretty cheap, and their service is excellent.

http://www.17photo.com/

Adorama is a pretty good online store also. Good selection of equipment there.

http://www.adorama.com/

As for lens selection, Pentax's 58mm 75-300mm lens is alright. It is pretty affordable, at around 130 bucks, and is also pretty lightweight.

What type of shots to you like to take? Do you find yourself taking portraits, or landscapes, or are you into wildlife, or sports? The right lens for the right situation. Give us some more nfo :)

I'm mostly into landscapes, and outdoor scenic shots. Usually when i'm out hillwalking

I like wide angle lenses for landscape photography and scenic stuff. Sometimes it's easier to have a zoom that can help you crop the frame but I find that I'm always wishing for wider rather than longer.

You might like 24mm or 28mm. Lenses wider than that are ultra-wide and start to get expensive.

For landscape, you should be using a tripod. Therefore you don't really need the lens to be fast (large maximum aperture).

Wide angle lenses are a must for capturing landscapes and scenery. Like Big Mike said, I'm usually wishing for wider, and it seems like you are too.

A wide angle zoom will be cheaper, so if you are on a budget, try a 28-80mm zoom, or something similar.