Looking for purchase advice

sownman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello to all. Brand new member here. I'm an old time photographer with a pair of Nikon F1's and a few lenses. I've been away from product info for a very long time. In my day if you wanted 35mm and you wanted the best glass you bought Leica or Nikon. I am now interested in a gift for my daughter who is showing some talent. I want to buy her a digital camera
and am still of the mindset that bodies don't mean as much as lenses.

Who makes the best glass now ? I've been looking at the D90. Am I correct in my assumption that Nikkor is still top glass or have things changed ? Any new products on the near horizon that should be watched or waited for ?

Thanks for any advice

Steve

Welcome to the forum.

In the '35mm' format (including most Digital SLR cameras)...Nikon & Canon both have a great range of lenses. Their top of the line lenses are very good.
I don't know much about Leica's SLR lenses but I'd assume they are pretty good. Their rangefinder lenses are, of course, outstanding.

My advice would be to get your daughter a Nikon DSLR body because your lenses should be compatible with it. The D90 is a 'mid level' DSLR body...it's bigger and more robust than the 'entry level' models, but not up to the level of the more expensive models like the D300, D700 or D3 etc. I think it would be a good choice, unless one of the smaller models (D40, D3000, D5000) fits her hands better.

Keep in mind that most DSLR cameras have an image sensor that is smaller than a frame of 35mm film. The result of this, is that the image circle from a '35mm film' lens will be cropped....thus making the lens feel longer that it does on a film camera. The factor for Nikon is 1.5. So a 50mm lens, on a D90...would feel like a 75mm lens on your F1.
It's not something to worry about, except that a 'normal range' zoom lens on the digital body is about 18mm to 55mm....rather than 24mm to 70mm.