My first time using a camera-Cat

Inferknite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My dad bought me a point and shoot coolpix L3 camera. It's my first camera so I started shooting and taking pictures in colour. I realized right away that flash made most pictures ugly so I took that off.

This is a picture that I took of my cat while shooting, I converted it to black and white and added a 'soft glow' special effect (I can't remeber the name of the program that did it)
http://img254.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscn0109ly7.jpg

Now I've heard that taking black and white pictures digitally or converting them is a big no no in photography so I guess I messed up on that part. I really liked the angle I took it at but hate how the wall seems to end and parts of another backround can be seen.

I'm really new to photography so any tips are appreciated, I'm looking forward to your feedback.

*EDIT: oh man it seems half the picture wont show up on imageshack....
*EDIT: okay got it working now :)

Welcome to the forum

Now I've heard that taking black and white pictures digitally or converting them is a big no no in photography so I guess I messed up on that part.
Who told you that? That's just plain crazy. Convert B&W all you want...we don't mind.

I really liked the angle I took it at but hate how the wall seems to end and parts of another background can be seen.
You could easily crop the image closer to the cat to get rid of the distracting parts of the background. At least now you know...so in the future, you will know to watch the edges and the background before you snap the shot.

thanks I'll try to crop it out. Any tips on producing decent images with a low end camera? My main concern is how blurry pictures come out whenever the cat is moving.

I think it has to do with the shutter speed, which gets better the higher up you go?

Thanks