Need help noob

Jared185

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,
So I don't know really we're to start, but will start by saying I'm completely new to photography. I have never done it before but would love to learn. I love nature and wildlife I practically live in the woods hunting hiking or whatever else I find myself into. And while in the woods last week I was sitting and a squirrel come within 5 ft of me just studying me and I remember thinking these would make for some awesome photos. So anyway my focus is always going to be on wildlife.

But it seems the more I look into wildlife photography the more monumental this really seems. First off 3 or 4 years ago I bought my wife a Nikon d3000 kit that come with 2 lens a dx 18-55 and 55-200. The camera and a bag. I know it's entry level but I would like to learn on this seeing as a newer higher end camera can run into the thousands of dollars range.

So now that you all have a little background and my camera setup I have to ask where do I start from here. The camera itself and all the functions are completely foreign to me. Not counting all the technical stuff like lighting and computer editing software

So where would you all start it seems very intimidating from where I'm at.

Step one: RTFM. Seriously, read it. Cover to cover, and then read it again. Nikon manuals are quite well written, and they explain a lot about photography in general as well as the operation of the camera. Aside from that,there are virtually limitless resources on-line. For general concepts I really like the tutorials at Cambridge in Colour. YouTube is a great resource, and Creative Live often has 'beginner' lessons on.

Welcome to the site.

I think you have the right idea of learning the basics with the D3000, and upgrade it when it no longer fits your needs. As far as what you can do in the mean time, look at getting a decent tripod and a longer telephoto lens.