Never satisfied with my photos...

dcb83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been shooting photos for about 6 months now. I have a pretty good understanding of the technical aspects. Whenever I review my photos on my computer they look so dull and ordinary.They have a point and shoot look to them. I visit flickr often and look at ppl's photos there and I just don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Others shoot photos of the simplest things and their shots look fantastic. How do I get that extra spark in my photos? Is it all in photoshop editing? can anyone recommend a processing routine?

Almost all of it is in the creativity you possess when taking a photo.
This means controlling lighting, exposure, and subject composition.

Throw some pictures in here so we can see and help you out.

You also have to learn post processing. Ideally you should get everything right in the camera, but there are many post processing techniques ( like the super bright saturated look ) or HDR, that many people just assume is some magical settings the photographer is using, but its not. As SHMNE said, post some photos of yours and then maybe post a few links to some flickr shots that you are not understanding how to get.

A new idea going around is that it takes about 10,000 hours to become "good at" almost any craft,trade,sport,or hobby. Six months is barely enough time to get past the newbie stage...you are comparing yourself and your work against people who have been shooting for as long as maybe a year, to perhaps 30 to 40 years!

From little acorns,mighty oaks grow. But, not overnight!

I'm with shmne. Post some pics, receive some critiques and carry on.

If it's wrong to shoot 200 frames and keep 1 I don't want to be right.