New camera

mikeatpriestlake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am looking to purchase a new Dslr camera. I am not new to photography, but I am new to dslrs. I am currently looking at a Nikon D5500 and a Canon EOS rebel t5i. Any thoughts on these or other ideas for a novice who wants his camera to be able to serve me as I get more skill? Thanks in advance! Mike

I would take the D5500. It is smaller and lighter, has a higher pixel count and wifi (easy for saving your pictures on a smartphone or tablet and using this devices as a remote). But I only know Nikon DSLRs, so I'm biassed :)
Rudi

He's the Nikon guy, I'm the Canon guy. I'd suggest the Canon......gee, what a surprise, right?

Nikon has a greater pixel count. At this point, it makes zero difference. Both of these cameras placed in the hands of a good photographer are going to produce stellar pictures, you could not possibly tell them apart by looking at their resulting images. The Nikon has WI-FI. My camera has it too. I've never used it, don't care about it. But that's just me. Both cameras have 9 cross type AF points, which is great and quite important. What I did find just looking now was that the Canon was $200 cheaper. So, is the WI-FI worth 2 bucks to you?

You aren't going to lose regardless of what you do here. Close your eyes and point to one and you're going to get a great piece of hardware. But that's only assuming they are both priced the same.

Go to the store and see which camera feels better in your hand. Its important. Also, you are not buying just a camera..you buying a system..something you could potentially stay with for years. Just do your research.

Hi everyone, I am looking to purchase a new Dslr camera. I am not new to photography, but I am new to dslrs. I am currently looking at a Nikon D5500 and a Canon EOS rebel t5i. Any thoughts on these or other ideas for a novice who wants his camera to be able to serve me as I get more skill? Thanks in advance! Mike