New - Canon 7D lens question

Shelly1204

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography, hoping to make it a new and relaxing hobby. I'm picking up a Canon 7D next week (currently using an Alpha 100). It comes with a 28-135mm IS Lens. What other lens should be my next purchase? I'll mostly be using it indoors, low light to shoot family and to learn on. I'll probably also be using it for video as well. Should I just spend the money on a good flash to use off camera instead? What would you suggest for both?

Thanks for your help!

p.s.- waiting for a "spend the money on a good photographer" comment in 3...2...1.... :lmao:

The 50mm f/1.8 is an amazing value. I own the 50mm f/1.4, and while I love it, I'm not sure it's entirely worth the money over the 1.8 for a first "extra" purchase.

Yeah, the 50mm f/1.4 is a really sweet lens, definitely worth it over the 1.8 if you shoot Canon.

What's your budget, and what kind of photography do you prefer to do?

A 50mm prime lens is always good to have in your selection (whether the Canon 1.8, Canon 1.4 or Sigma 1.4), but if you're into specific types of photography you may also want something that goes wider or longer than the 28-135.

Yeah, the 50mm f/1.4 is a really sweet lens, definitely worth it over the 1.8 if you shoot Canon.

Awesome, thanks. I'll pick one up. Any recommendations for a flash?