NEWBIE: random photos.

hamburger.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey. I'm Amber, and i'm new to photography. I bought a Nikon D40 a few months ago and have not really used it. I got VERY frustrated because i thought i could just "pick" the camera up and BOOM i'm a pro.:lol: here are some photos i took. PLEASE feel free to throw some pointers.:sexywink: THANKS!
CSC_0350.jpg

DSC_0421-1.jpg

DSC_0439.jpg

SORRY IF I HURT ANYONE'S EYES.:mrgreen:

Last edited:
What lens are you using? It looks like you have a good grasp of how to use shallow depth of field. So, good work there. For a beginner, I think you have some great shots, much better than the first shots I ever took. :)

#1 - People who have seen me post here before know that I don't really like selective coloring. But I absolutely love how you did it in this photo. It's extremely subtle. I didn't even see it the first time I looked at the shot. For those who are wondering what I think is an example of good selective coloring, this is a great example. My only nitpicks are the harsh shadows behind the figures. You obviously had a very strong light source, and I think it detracts from the shot a bit.

#2 - Great focus and exposure. First thing, check your horizon when you're shooting. The shot is tilting to the left a bit. You can fix this in post pretty easily. I personally might have composed this one a little bit differently. The girl is in the middle of the frame, and I think it would have looked better if you'd composed the shot with her a bit more in the left side of the frame. Lastly, direct sunlight looks great to our eyes, but in a photo, it doesn't. It creates harsh shadows and blown out areas. Her face is a bit overexposed as a result and she's casting some hefty shadows.