Nice Action Photo

photo guy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Here is another photo. This one is my favorite. I have a Firefighter family. (Dad was for 12 years, brother is on his 12th year [ff/paramedic], cousin was one and now a paramedic, uncle was an emt and is still a cop, and I am a Fire Dept. Photographer on the side for my local dept.) This is a photo that I took earlier this year at a 2 Alarm fire at the local public high school. The fire did over $60,000.00 damage. I responded as the dept photographer and had great access due to the Fire Chief was first on scene and the school still has the same head principal that was there when I graduated in 1999. This photo was published FRONT PAGE of the local newspaper the next day and was even displayed by the Fire Dept. at our local fair in the summer.

It's very bright and flatly lit - it could do with a fairly hefty contrast boost. I would've also cropped it down (keeping the same proportions) to cut out the brick wall in the background and fill more of the frame with just the fireman and the flames.

Seems a little too tightly cropped to me. Also, ideally, I would have rather seen a slightly different angle. Obviously this is limited due to needing to keep a safe distance, but even shooting maybe a little more towards 45-75 degree angle. You see fire and and a firefighter, but it just seems a bit too static to me. Not enough elements in the shot to give a sense of what is going on or where it is at. Its obvious that there is a fire, and a firefighter, but is this a training facility? An old folks home?? An industrial complex?? a preschool?? A rooftop? a ground floor??