Nikon: CLS vs SU-800 vs Pocketwizard?

Markw

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.outsidetherainbow.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone. To make it short and simple, I have VERY little experience in the world of speedlites. I have used my SB-600 with the popup flash a bunch of times, but nothing extensive. I have used a few SB-700s for this series. I squeezed through that one by the skin of my teeth. Almost all of my lighting work has been done with studio-style strobes, wired to the camera. Well, I'd really, really like to get into speedlites more extensively. I love the versatility and portability of a speedlite setup. Sooooo, here's my question to you:

What are the functionality differences between using the popup flash as commander, using a master flash as commander, using the SU-800 as commander, and using pocket wizards in terms of _____________ can do __________, but ____________ can't?

As you can tell, I'm very early in my research. :blushing:

Thanks in advance,
Mark

Well for some differences to get you started:

- Master flash as commander gives you more features (more groups and settings) than your built in flash. Also gives you the ability to shoot high power on camera if for some bizarre reason you want to do that.
- SU-800. Gives you all the features of the above sans the flash. As the transmission is purely IR there's no on camera flash light getting back into your picture. (Even with the flash disabled of really reflective surfaces like glass / mirrors it'll still contribute to the exposure). Naturally you get no on camera flash using the SU-800.
- Pocket wizards are radio triggers. The others transmit via light. Light transmission works well indoors but for instance outdoors the SU-800/Speedlight/Oncamera flash will fail to trigger a light behind you, the pocket wizard won't.