austriker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dlindahlphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Alaska.

Ookay, so my title might be a slight exageration or a hyperbole. But Im stoked. No way around that.

I have never been but love the outdoors and my family and I are headed on this cruise for 7 days in mid-may. I am also a photographer (ahem, duh) and thus have always wanted to visit the great state of alaska for its beauty and photo-prowess.

For those who live up there and/or have traveled I come for your wise counsel. I have been reading and searching up before this great voyage. Thus I am aware it is rainy and cold and will definitely be prepared in that regard (my friends call me the jacket master). More importantly is that my photo satchel is properly furnished before this gran undertaking..

Here are my thoughts, I bought an external 1.5 TB and will bring my laptop. I also purchased an extra battery and nikon charger (I have 2 nikon batteries, and 2 non-nikon (ie non-reliable) batteries). Thus memory and battery is taken care of I think. You can see my current quiver in my sig.

The things I have been considering to acquire:
-a telephoto extender for my 80-200 f/2.8 (should I look for 1.7x or 2x): I did some research and seems this is the proper 2x model for my telephoto
-CP and graduated ND filters for the telephoto and kit lens
-35mm f/1.8 (recently sold my 50mm 1.8, not because of this trip, but because I have always found the 50 too 'zoomed' in for my portrait taste.
-AF-S -Zoom-Nikkor ED 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G IF DX VR (to replace my kit lens and give me more range; also more something I have thought about recently not necessarily b/c of this trip)
-wide angle lens (Tokina 12-24 or Tokina 11-16 f2.8): again I have craved a wide angle for a year or so. Itd be neat for the cruise boat/fam shots I think