Redundant lens question...

JenPena

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I've read through some current threads and am looking for somewhat the same answer, slightly different circumstances....

I have a Nikon D70 and am mostly taking posed pictures, such as weddings, engagements, senior portraits, babies, etc. I have the standard equipment that came with the D70 kit, lens and body, and bought an SB-600 flash. I also have a 70-300 Vivitar lens that I had bought for my N65 when I worked at the local newspaper, but I haven't been satisfied with the output when using it on my D70.

Question is - in recent threads some have been posting about getting better lenses than putting money in a newer body, which I'm very receptive to - I like the camera but the output is to be desired, although I'm still learning. My digital pictures are grainy and not always sharp when I zoom in on them in Photoshop to look at detail. Some of you have mentioned that it would be wise to invest in a better lens to remedy this. What would you suggest I should invest in for my D70 for better pictures?

I'm a Canon guy...so I don't know Nikon all that well....however...I suggest picking up a 50mm F1.8 (or other similar prime lens like 24mm, 35mm, 85mm).

In most cases, the prime lenses have great optical performance. Also, in most cases, prime lenses have a larger maximum aperture. A larger aperture will allow you to use faster shutter speeds when shooting with avaliable light. A larger aperture will allow you to use a shallower DOF. A larger aperture will give you a bigger 'sweet spot'. Most lenses will perform best when stopped down from full open, at least a few stops. So a kit lens won't look great a F5.6...but will be much better by F8. A 50mm F1.8 will look pretty good at F2.8.

Also, a 50mm F1.8 is quite affordable when compared to most other lenses. If you want great optical quality in a zoom lens...the price tag starts around $500 and goes up from there.