Retouching and background replacement

reznap

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, just spent a little while working on a photo from ModelMayhem, posted specifically for people to edit (they even uploaded the RAW file from their 5D for us).

I prefer to retouch skin while preserving the original skin texture. I do it by dodging and burning curves adjustment layers, with inverted masks. Deleting the green screen was the easiest thing ever.. using the background eraser tool. I swear that thing is voodoo..

Just wanted to share the end result. The background is from an old photo of mine. I did use the liquify tool a bit to reshape her face a little.

I'll try and answer any questions but I'm kinda new to this.

Photographer's modelmayhem page: http://www.modelmayhem.com/183752

jKY77.jpg

And after:

NuvZY.jpg

Last edited:
This is really cool, hopefully one day i will be able to try this

I can still see a bit of green tinge on the left (her right) side of her hair.
The highlights on her face seem a little too hot.

The skin looks good though. Nice and smooth but with retained texture.
I would have zapped the spots on her arms & chest as well.

I can still see a bit of green tinge on the left (her right) side of her hair.
The highlights on her face seem a little too hot.

The skin looks good though. Nice and smooth but with retained texture.
I would have zapped the spots on her arms & chest as well.

Good eye and thanks for your critique.

The green tinge.. I can't believe I didn't make that better a few weeks ago when I did this. It was my first try with green screen/background replacement so I guess I can forgive myself. It is glaringly bad though, now that you've pointed it out to me.

The spots on her arms and chest should have come off, I agree.